Dining in Gaggan

We were introduced to Gaggan from watching Netflix Chef’s Table in 2016.  The series was introducing up and coming chefs from around the world.  The unique thing about the series is the fact that the chefs did not have any Michelin star (I think). 

So when it was confirmed we’re going to Bangkok for our holiday, it suddenly become a possibility for us to try Indian fusion food in Gaggan.  The only challenge was to get a reservation.  Based on online forums, a lot of people seem to struggle to either get a response from online booking or getting through the phone. 

I guess I was very lucky as I received an email confirming my reservation approx 1 month after submitting a booking request online.  The challenge came when I realised I have to provide my credit card details to confirm the reservation.  Clearly the restaurant management didn’t care much for online security as they requested for my credit card details to be sent via email.  The only workaround was to provide the details via phone.  It took me 4 attempts before I got through. 

On the day of the reservation, the restaurant called and requested for us to arrive earlier.  They also reminded us that it’s Friday & traffic will be bad.  They were not wrong.  It took us twice as long to get there due to the Bangkok traffic.  The exact location is also quite hidden therefore planning to arrive earlier is recommended. 

Our luck strike again when we were told we’ll be seated at “The Lab”.  Apparently it’s a new sitting arrangement / concept where you get to see how the food is being prepared and the chef will explain each dish as it is being served.  There’s also a menu which consists of an icon or emoji to describe each dish.  At the end of the 25 course meal, the chef reveals the name of each dish. 

The whole experience was pleasant, especially the food.  However we felt that the wine pairing by the sommelier was not great especially when he didn’t follow our specific request to pace our drinks throughout the meal. 

Overall I would recommend this restaurant if you get a chance but don’t try wine pairing.  Especially now that Gaggan has announced the restaurant will close in 2020 as he wants to focus on Japanese food. 

EVJD2675HSAE5866JABT3353

Leave a comment