Life after Facebook

It’s been 2.5 months since we deleted our FB accounts.  YES!  We did it…

I can’t remember how it came about, but we had a chat about the amount of time we spent on social media (e.g. FB, Instagram, Twitter, etc.).  Before I know it, we were agreeing to deleting our FB and see if it’s such a big deal.

For me, it is quite a big deal.  Even after the whole 1 month detox that I did 2 year ago (read here), I was still relying on FB to tell me what my friends and family are doing, what’s going on in the world and also it was one of my main source of the celebrity gossip!  On top of that, I was also using FB to keep in touch with some ex colleagues and friends.

So do I feel left out for not using FB ??  Hell yeah!  But that means I have to take more effort in communicating with my friends and family.  Naturally, there has been more WhatsApp messages.

Besides the fact that I’m spending more time doing other things (like reading), I also think it was a good opportunity to ‘disconnect’ from people you never really know but was ‘force’ to befriend as a courtesy (like long lost childhood friends).

Anyway, I’m still using Youtube and Instagram, so it’s not like we’re totally disconnected from the ‘internet’ world.  Who knows maybe I’ll create a new FB account in the future, especially now that FB has a new mission, “Give people the power to build community and bring the world closer together.”

Leave a Reply

