What’s in a name?

When Dav and I got married and moved to UK, it didnt occur to me how significant it is to carry his last name. Just because we don’t have the same surname, stranger we met just naturally assumed we’re not married.

Then came a period where I refused to change my name due to the hassle and my pride to keep my family’s surname. Although it is very common to do so in the UK, I didnt see a need for me to do it. There was a lot of discussion held between Dav & I. He thinks that it is necessary to change my name but I don’t. Plus it is not common at all in Malaysia, so why do it? Stephanie is not even my official name!

Last week, while on a business trip, suddenly I felt the need to be part of his family by carrying his family name. So I took baby steps … I changed my Facebook name to Stephanie Ngoi-Seow. Nobody noticed it except for Dav. When he asked, I said I wanted to try it out. ๐Ÿ™‚

How do like my new name?

5 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

  1. I didn’t think it was necessary to change my name. We’ve been married almost 7 yrs and I didn’t officially change it until I went on maternity leave (3 yrs ago). But I think it is nice, and easier, in the long run, to take your husband’s name ๐Ÿ™‚ Less confusion too if you have children. ๐Ÿ™‚ Comes down to personal preference.

    And if you’re like me, with a different name in your passport, it can be a PAIN sometimes when ID is required. So much EASIER to just change it all to be the same. ๐Ÿ™‚ Rather than having to show proof like marriage certificate etc etc just to prove you are who you say you are.

  2. Myself also notice it but I don’t think it’s necessary to change to adopt hubby surname. Think about it, we r in the modern world, why must married women change their surname instead of men change to adopt wife surname ????

Leave a Reply

