Inspiring people, ideas and projects

I’ve been ill for the past few days. What started as an itchy sore throat soon developed into a cough. Then the cold and headache together with fever all came along too. I’ve been told technically I cannot say it’s a flu because I do not have joint pain…

So because of that, I spent quite a lot of time in the bed today, trying to sleep but couldnt really get much rest due to the congestion. To keep me busy, I started viewing videos on my ipad (what a wonderful tablet!).

I would like to share with you what Dav introduced to me a while back – TED Talks.

TED is a small nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Since then its scope has become ever broader. Along with two annual conferences — the TED Conference in Long Beach and Palm Springs each spring, and the TEDGlobal conference in Edinburgh UK each summer — TED includes the award-winning TEDTalks video site, the Open Translation Project and Open TV Project, the inspiring TED Fellows and TEDx programs, and the annual TED Prize. (Copied from TED website – http://www.ted.com/pages/about).

You can view all their videos for free either on their website, via podcast or even on iPad (they have build their own app on the App Store).

I find it very interesting to see what other people is doing, what kind of ideas they have and also how they try to achieve their goals and dreams. Below are some of the interesting talks I found today. Hope you enjoy it and find it useful.

Nigel Marsh: How to make work-life balance work

Johanna Blakley: Social media and the end of gender

Patricia Kuhl: The linguistic genius of babies

One thought on “Inspiring people, ideas and projects

Leave a Reply

