Afternoon Tea @ The Athenaeum Hotel

I’ve been living in London for almost 3 years and I’m ashamed to say I’ve never really attended the English Afternoon Tea before. So finally I arranged to try the afternoon tea at the Athenaeum Hotel (apparently award winning) with the ladies. It was also a good opportunity for me to catch up with everyone since I’ve been away for 2 months.

According to Wiki, afternoon tea is a light meal typically eaten between 3pm and 5pm. Traditionally, loose tea is brewed in a teapot and served in teacups with milk and sugar. This is accompanied by sandwiches (customarilycucumber, egg and cress, fish paste, ham, and smoked salmon), scones (with clotted cream and jam, see cream tea) and usually cakes and pastries (such as Battenberg, fruit cake or Victoria sponge). The food is often served on a tiered stand; there may be no sandwiches, but bread or scones with butter or margarine and optional jam or other spread.

Afternoon Tea @ The Athenaeum Hotel

The spread is quite standard (nothing to shout about) but the tea is amazing. The deco seems a bit ‘cold’ and I was quite annoyed that we were pressured to leave even before we could finish our cakes as the second session was about to start.

Steph’s rating: 6/10. Will definitely try afternoon tea in another hotel.

3 thoughts on “Afternoon Tea @ The Athenaeum Hotel

  1. The place to be for afternoon tea in London is definitely the Ritz! I have booked to have afternoon tea there 2 months ago for last Sunday, but unfortunately I missed the chance. Give it a try soon and let me know the verdict.

  2. Darren, it is! You should try it next time.

    Jas, I’ve been told Ritz got bad service. But we can always try when you’re in London next.

Leave a Reply

