Visibility

Since young, I always thought that I’ll do well as long as I work hard.

Then when I started working in my first job, it seems to be true. I would work hard to earn my promotion. There’s no need to play politics, no need to be nice to the right people. I let my work speaks for itself.

Now that I’m working in a MNC, things have changed significantly. I failed miserably at playing the politic games. I do not know who are the right person to talk to or what I need to do to make myself ‘popular’. It dawn on me that delivering good work is no longer good enough. It’s all about who you know and who you speak to. Then earlier this year, my manager told me, I’m not visible enough in the organisation to get a promotion. I was dumbfounded.

Is this the right way to motivate an employee in an organisation? By encouraging them to be more visible (i.e social) but not deliver good work?

Its quite sad to see the same thing happening to our office in KL too. I was informed recently by a colleague that he/she didn’t get promoted because he/she was not visible enough in the organisation.

One word came to my mind – WTF!?!?!?!

4 thoughts on “Visibility

  1. Sad but very true, need to have lots of self-publicity to be visible in an organisation in order to get promoted.

  2. Just be yourself – friendly, happy, sweet and always smiling away.
    You will attract people from all areas and they will appreciate your good self and your work. In this manner, you are fulfilled and work progress.

Leave a Reply

