Confidence

We have been in London for almost 2 years now (another 2 weeks and it will be 2 years!).

The first gadget we bought in London was our bicycles. After all these times and all the cycling trips we did, I’m so sad to say that I still do not have enough confidence to cycle on the road. I always feels very bad when the fear of being hit by a vehicle kicks in while I’m cycling. Worse still when Dav had to push his bicycle with me just to accompany me.

So I’ve decided to do something about it when I saw a poster in the tube station. TFL’s website actually has a sections on cycling and cycle training!! Not only this is great, it’s also FREE (at least for my council). Here’s when I feel really happy about paying 40% tax…. LoL

Screen shot 2009-09-09 at 12.45.42 AM

Anyway, I signed up online last month, few weeks later I received a form requesting for my personal details. Then last week, I received a package which contains 2 booklets on cycling safety. I was informed I should go through these materials before I start my lessons.

Today, I received a call from my future cycling teacher, James. We arranged to meet early next month to start my lessons and we even blocked a second date for the next lesson.

Can’t wait!!

2 thoughts on “Confidence

  1. It looks easy but I understand first hand how dangerous it is for the cyclist to peddle down a busy, main road. I don’t venture very far from my house but even just down the main road in front of my house is nerve wrecking at times!

    Melbourne is a very cycle-to-work sort of city. A LOT of people cycle to work everyday from what I can see and I often wonder how they do it on the highway and the busy roads.

    Good luck! I’m sure you’ll have fun doing it either way :):)

Leave a Reply

