Six degrees of separation

Recently I’ve been seeing alot of funny pics on Facebook which shows the connection between you and your friends and among your friends. This has led me to think more about the concept of ‘Six degrees of separation’.

As per Wiki, Six degrees of separation refers to the idea that, if a person is one step away from each person they know and two steps away from each person who is known by one of the people they know, then everyone is an average of six “steps” away from each person on Earth.

Do you believe this?

To a certain degree, I do. Since the introduction of Facebook, I’ve realised I have colleagues who knows my high school mates and secondary school mates who are friends with my uni mates, etc etc etc… cant keep track. So when I first register a FB account, I would either look out for my long lost friends through other friends or even better, now FB have a predictive application which shows you the people you might know and allows u to add them.

Here’s what was produced from the FB application…

As you can see, I’ve loads of friends in the ‘red’ zone. These were my colleagues from EY, now my friends. Then on the ‘green’ zone, they are more recent colleagues from BAT. If you see closely, there’s like interconnecting lines between the ‘zones’. But it doesnt really prove the theory of ‘Six degrees of separation’.

So I went on to look for another application called Six Degrees. The application description says it calculates the degrees of separation between different people. I’ve added it and havent been able to ‘load’ the application…

So if you’re curious about this, check out the FB application and tell me what you think.

2 thoughts on “Six degrees of separation

  1. The one which produce the pic in the post is ‘TouchGraph’. I think u can go to the app page by clicking on the pic in my FB profile.

    There’s another one with the name ‘Six Degrees’.

Leave a Reply

