British Museum

It was almost 3 1/2 years ago when I first visited British Museum, it was an amazing experience, the architecture and the collections. Someone told me that it was full of items stolen by the Brits..;-) Anyway, I need to practice and learn how to use this new camera, and this is a great place to start.

I had loads of trouble with the white balance and getting the exposure setting right. Each snapshot requires changes in the settings and I ended taking a few snapshots for each scene. Very tiring experience, I’ll need to start customizing the presets and learning to understand how to gauge the settings just from looking at the subject.

I’ve been searching for a few prime lens as well, 50mm f1.8 II and the 20mm f2.8 USM. Apparently there is a shortage of 50mm lens as it is the cheapest prime lens and one of the most sought after. The shops that does have inventory, takes advantage of the situation by hiking up the price from £69 to £79. I’ll just have to look around..

At the moment, I’m using a 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM lens that comes prepackaged with the camera body. Useful but I would really like to get prime lenses since it produced better quality picture. Anyway, here’s to hoping..

img_0675.jpg

img_0688.jpg

img_0695.jpg

img_0707.jpg

img_0719.jpg

img_0722.jpg

3 thoughts on “British Museum

  1. Heya Joyce!
    Wow, that’s cheap. Would love to get one, however I was actually thinking of getting it soon so I can practice. Let me look around, I’ll let you know. Thanks!!

    Ali, fish eye lens eh? Would love to get one, but there’s so many lenses that I like as well! Seems that the cheapest wide angle lens is the 20mm, after that , it’s all really expensive. Is Sigma any good, do you know?

Leave a Reply

