Another week gone by

It’s Sunday, 2230. Tmrw is the start of a brand new week… time does fly. With a blink of the eye, we’ve been here for 3 weeks, going into 4 weeks. For a merely 3 weeks, we sure did alot to start our life together here in London.

I’ve been asked a few times, how’s married life? My answer is ‘SUPERB!’ … but of course nothing is smooth sailing when it comes to actually ‘staying’ together with someone for the first time. One thing for sure, I’m glad we sort of made an agreement up-front that he will do the cooking majority of the time (ie dinner) since I have no interest in cooking and I will help with the cleaning. But we didnt really discussed how we’re going to split the house chores.

So first weekend comes and we have our first ‘disagreement’ on who should do what. I dont think Dav really agreed to what I proposed. So I sort of ‘give-in’ by agreeing to clean the toilet… (Dav, it’s your turn next week! hehehe)

Dav’s cooking has been superb. My younger sis and her bf was in London for the weekend and we invited them over for dinner and even they said his grilled chicken with Kicap ABC was tasty. I’ve also been watching Nigella express on BBC 2 (Thanks to Catty Pants for pointing out the show) to get some tips on cooking.

To be honest, I’ve never really like Nigella (maybe cos Dav find her HOT). But I have to admit, the recipes she have is really quite easy to cook and it’s ingredients are not hard to get. So I’m even thinking of investing on her ‘Nigella Express’ book. (In case you’re wondering what happened to my Jamie Oliver’s book titled ‘Cook with Jamie’, we didnt bring it to London but it will soon be here after my KL trip in Nov). She even inspired me to cook breakfast for Dav yesterday morning. Nothing special, just toast with jam, scramble eggs and mushroom soup.
Looks like I’ve deviate from the ‘marriage life’ topic… ok back to that. Another thing we had to agree on was who’s going to wash and iron the clothes. We never really agree on the washing bit, but we agreed that we will only iron our own clothes… hehehe which is great. On washing the clothes, I’ve been the one initiating it and sometimes Dav would help with hanging. We have a washer/dryer but am trying not to use the dryer to save electricity.

Thats about all for now. Here’s a pic of us in our new home.

dsc02045.jpg

4 thoughts on “Another week gone by

  1. Go, go, go Nigella! πŸ™‚ I’ve watched a couple of her Express recipes on the web and they really look simple yet mouth watering – do let me know how you go K?

    And coming on to the topic of household chores – God…where do I start??! Joel and I have had MANY squabbles over that. I’m a neat freak and I do NOT apologise for being so. In fact, I think Joel ought to thank his lucky stars for that but as I work such long and odd hours, sometimes I get the feeling I’m doing ALL the housework whilst still working a full-time job and it makes me become a rather disgruntled Catty Pants.

    So we split things up:

    Ironing – he irons his own stuff and I do mine (my clothes are way to ex to let him ruin them!)

    Laundry – I do it all because knowing that boy, he’ll bleach everything.

    Bathroom – he scrubs the bathtub and shower area whilst I clean the toilet and sink (I’m very fussy about the toilet bowl as you can see!)

    Cooking- what do you think? πŸ™‚

    Vacuuming and Dusting – mostly me cause I don’t really mind doing these two.

    Taking Out The Rubbish and Filling Cars with Petrol – him.

    And the boy pays for all our meals when we dine out cause he gets a in-house maid for free πŸ™‚

  2. Stephie and Catty P: I also do most of the household chores, simply because I have the free time.

    The trade off is Ed pays ALL the bills that come in the mail – utilities, credit cards, body corporate etc.

    Ironing – I hardly iron Ed’s clothes, he doesn’t much either because he believes in BODY IRONING. And besides, he changes into scrubs all day at work, so that’s a bonus. πŸ™‚

    Laundry – like Catty P, I do it all, because it’s easier lah. Ed washed my bras once in the machine. Enough said. πŸ™‚

    Bathroom – I pretty much clean and scrub the whole thing. Btw Catty P, Orange Power works! πŸ™‚

    Vacuuming – I vacuum everything once a week, so it’s not too bad. Ed will help out with the vac if he’s not working weekends.

    Cooking – Mainly me, I start dinner because I almost always get home first. Ed cooks from time to time, and we eat out a couple of times a week. If I cook, then he washes up and vice versa.

    Rubbish/recycling – I think Ed and I do equal shares.

    Petrol – We top up our own cars.

    Enjoy married life, it has it’s ups and downs, but it’s great. πŸ™‚

  3. Thks girls for sharing your experiences… not sure why we girls end up being the maid… hahaha I wont complain that much as long as I dont have to deal with cooking dinner everyday!

Leave a Reply

